Help Wanted: Call for Volunteers

It’s time to start thinking about a better frontpage for Sanic. One thing that will certainly help boost the public image of the project is having better news, examples, documentation, tutorials, etc. Let’s bring it all under one roof, and put it on the sanicframework.org domain.

To accomplish this, I would like to bring together a group of maybe 3-4 collaborators (not too many people to start) to hash out design and implementation ideas.

• Are you good with CSS/web design?
  • Have some ideas on how to leverage automation tools?
  • Want to share your knowledge by helping write content?

If you are interested in helping out Sanic, but do not know where to get started, this is your opportunity.

Please respond to this post, or send me a private message if you are interested.

4 Likes

I would like to help, I have some experience with frontend, although I’m bad at design things. So, some designer is required, which will make custom design.

But first, let me share my thoughts to be in one boat. I recently came across similar problems, trying to figure out how to make my personal blog.

So, I see sanic docs desired to be:

1. It should be a signle-page application
  2. It’s desired to be content oriented, as major part is a text / documentation
  3. It’s desired to be markdown to allow easily write docs, and not everyone wants to deal with html
  4. Arbitrary custom design, if it would be required
  5. Be able to extend markdown

Right now there are two major modern competitors in this area. Gatsby JS based on React.js (have no experience with it) and GridSome (based on Vue.js).

Well, to my opinion GridSome is just the best choice right now. It applicable to all mentioned requirements and even more. It allows to use headless CMS (our frontend / design; data are fetched from that headless CMS).