Access current request without passing it through as context

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to Python and even newer to asyncio. But I like the thinking of Sanic, it reminds me a lot of Silex (from the PHP world). Anyways, this small intro is here to show that my reasoning about web app development is a bit biased towards the PHP / Java world. So what is in my head how to solve the following problem, is probably not really Pythonic, but let’s see.

I created a UserLibrary that has several methods, such as async def get_tenant(self, tenant_id) and async def create_ticket(self, subject, content). I instantiated this library under app.ctx.user_library, just after where I create my Sanic app instance. Is this the right way to create such a variable?

This user library is used by some inner platform, where the user writes their own Python. We massage that Python code into a Playbook, that looks like this:

class Playbook:
  async def run(self, u):
    # Some user provided Python
    result = {}
    # ...
    tenant = await u.get_tenant(123)
    # ...

return result

‘We’ call run(app.ctx.user_library). The users know that they are able to call tenant = await u.get_tenant(123) to retrieve a tenant.

Now the user library does a HTTP call using httpx when get_tenant is issued. What I now want to do, is to include some of the original HTTP request headers (request ID, tracing headers, etc. etc.) in this outgoing HTTP request. But I do not want to bother the users by providing this context, or them passing along all these variables.

So I was wondering whether you can somehow retrieve Sanic’s current request from inside the UserLibrary?

:heart:

Sounds like it. Happy to see some code if you want to share. Typically this is added in something like this:

@app.before_server_start
async def setup(app, _):
    app.ctx.user_library = UserLibrary()

On a completely unrelated topic, there is a really nice new feature coming in v21.12 that sort of simplifies a lot of that.